USTA Home > News Home > The Raceway at Western Fair District names Goldstar Badlands Horse of the Year at its annual awards dinner

The Raceway at Western Fair District names Goldstar Badlands Horse of the Year at its annual awards dinner
Saturday, February 17, 2018 - by Greg Blanchard, WFD Media

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print  Email

London, ON --- Goldstar Badlands took home overall Horse Of The Year honours as well as Older Pacing Horse honours Saturday night (Feb. 17) during the The Raceway at Western Fair District’s Annual Awards Night which honored the top performers of 2017.

The son of Badlands Hanover was an 11-time winner during the season while capturing several Preferred events over the London oval and banking almost $60,000 along the way. It was the second consecutive Horse Of The Year trophy for trainer and co-owner Heather Toll who captured last year’s title with pacing mare Nadia Can Go.

Bob McClure took home his first trophy as Driver Of The Year at The Raceway while Vic Puddy garnered his second consecutive trainer’s title. The popular Caretaker Of The Year award went to London resident Marta Dicicco.

The Raceway’s Special Recognition award went to O’Brien Award finalist The Joy Luck Club who enjoyed a stellar season in the Ontario Sires Program. The Dave Wall Achievement award was given to veteran horseman Dennis Morrissey while the Ruth Herbert Award for Horsewoman Of The Year went to Penny Francis.

A large crowd of about 340 packed the Carousel Room of the Western Fair District on Saturday night. The evening also included a tribute to the late, great Somebeachsomewhere. Photos of the entire evening will be posted on The Raceway’s Facebook page in the coming days.

Here is the complete list of this year’s Raceway award winners:
Older Pacing Horse
• Goldstar Badlands
Older Pacing Mare
• Solid Queen
Three-Year-Old Pacing Colt
• Mach One
Three-Year-Old Pacing Filly
• Casino Classic
Older Trotting Horse
• Liam Needsome
Older Trotting Mare
• Jagersro
Three-Year-Old Trotting Colt
• Pingaling
Three-Year-Old Trotting Filly
• Ionia
Claiming Pacer
• Remus Blue Chip
Claiming Trotter
• Riddle Me Miss
• Bob McClure
• Vic Puddy
• Jeff Williamson
Dave Wall Outstanding Service Award
•Dennis Morrissey
•Marta Dicicco
Horse Of The Year
•Goldstar Badlands
Ruth Herbert Horse Woman Of The Year
•Penny Francis
RUS Outstanding Service Award
•John Braid

Related Articles :

Heza Thrill N tops Night Pro in Miami Valley Open

Search Articles: