USTA Home > News Home > 'Cashel' Rocks in Big M feature

'Cashel' Rocks in Big M feature
Sunday, December 31, 2017 - by Dave Little, Meadowlands Media Relations

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print  Email

East Rutherford, NJ --- Rock Of Cashel returned from a four-month layoff a week ago and raised a few eyebrows with his impressive win off a live-cover trip in 1:53.4. Saturday night (Dec. 30) at the Meadowlands, he proved that was no fluke.

Lisa photo
Rock Of Cashel wins the $20,000 feature at Meadowlands on Saturday evening.

The 7-year-old son of Majestic Son went a tougher journey this time around, but the result was the same as the Mark Harder trainee went parked for the final five-eighths of a mile and won for fun nonetheless in the featured $20,000 Preferred Handicap for trotters.

Rock Of Cashel was in no hurry early, sitting a five-hole trip as the classy Opulent Yankee was sailing along on the point at the half in :56.2 after rating his second fraction in :29.3.

Gradually making up ground while first-over, Rock Of Cashel reached the leader’s wheel as they turned for home, and wore that foe down in determined fashion to record a three-quarter length win over a fast-closing Cash Me Out in 1:54. Elysium Lindy was third.

As the odds-on public choice, Rock Of Cashel returned $3.40 to win for owners Joseph Jannuzzelli and Jeffery Ruch, and now has 26 wins in 146 lifetime starts.

A LITTLE MORE: Corey Callahan drove three winners on the card after guiding six to victory lane last Saturday. … Jim Marohn Jr. won twice, giving him 12 straight programs with at least a driving double. … The Pick-5 was not hit, resulting in a rare carryover. They’ll be $28,786 in the hat for the next race card. … The Pick-4 pool totaled $87,371, and resulted in a payoff of $1,549.70 for a 50-cent wager. … The Late 20-cent Jackpot Super High-Five did not result in a single-ticket winner, upping the carryover to $64,317. … All-source wagering for the 14-race card was $2,710,217. … Racing resumes at the Big M on Friday at 6:35 p.m.

Related Articles :

Kauffman and Brewer take Dayton titles; Woebkenberg honored

Search Articles: