USTA Home > News Home > Delaware legislature honors Horse of the Year Wiggle It Jiggleit

Delaware legislature honors Horse of the Year Wiggle It Jiggleit
Wednesday, January 27, 2016 - by Matt Sparacino, publicity director, Harrington Raceway

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print  Email

Dover, DE --- The Delaware legislature paid tribute to 2015 Standardbred Horse of the Year Wiggle It Jiggleit Tuesday afternoon (Jan. 26) with ceremonies in the House of Representatives and Senate.

Wiggle It Jiggleit’s owner, George Teague Jr. of Harrington, and trainer Clyde Francis of Houston, were joined by the horse’s driver, Montrell Teague (Harrington) and groom Mike Taylor (Harrington).

In the Governor’s office, from left to right, are House Rep. Bobby Outten, Governor Jack Markell, George Teague, Senator Gary Simpson, Clyde Francis, Mike Taylor and Montrell Teague.

The festivities started on a capacity-filled Senate floor where legislators and visitors watched a replay of the 2015 Little Brown Jug from Delaware, Ohio, which is widely recognized as one of the most memorable races of all-time, that resulted in a victory for local star Wiggle It Jiggleit. Many of the legislators were awe-stricken by the remarkable race and vocalized their congratulations and pride in having a Delaware horse gain national acclaim and subsequent attention and exposure across North America.

A tribute was read and presented by Senators Gary Simpson and Patricia Blevins, noting the many accomplishments of Wiggle It Jiggleit, that included 22 victories and more than $2 million earned in a historic season.

The Teague crew then immediately went to the House chamber and were introduced by Representative Bobby Outten and Dan Short, who honored the connections of Wiggle It Jiggleit. Owner George Teague expressed his gratitude at the podium on the House floor.

Photos courtesy of Matt Sparacino
George Teague spoke on the House floor.

“This is truly an honor,” said Teague, who also trained 2004 Horse of the Year Rainbow Blue. “We got extremely lucky to have a horse like this and it’s been a fun ride. We appreciate the recognition.”

Teague and crew then visited the Honorable Governor Jack Markell’s office and were met with congratulations by the Governor.

Wiggle It Jiggleit is expected to return to racing in the spring of 2016 and will receive his Horse of the Year honors at the United States Harness Writers Association’s Dan Patch Awards banquet on March 6 in Orlando, Fla.

Delaware will be well represented as there will be four awards given to residents of The First State. In addition to the Horse of the Year, owner George Teague was voted 2015 Owner of the Year, driver Montrell Teague was named Rising Star, and Jo Ann Looney-King of Harrington will receive the William Haughton Memorial Good Guy Award.

Related Articles :

My Revenuer pulls off 19-1 shocker in Pompano feature

Search Articles: