USTA Home > News Home > OSRC approves fines and suspensions for Standardbred racing

OSRC approves fines and suspensions for Standardbred racing
Thursday, August 27, 2015 - by Kimberly A. Rinker, for the Ohio State Racing Commission

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print  Email

Columbus, OH --- The Ohio State Racing Commission unanimously approved recommended fines and suspensions regarding “Use of the Whip” and other rules for Standardbred racing at its monthly meeting on Aug. 25.

The “Use of Whip” rule outlines specific types of whips and the amount of force a driver can deliver when utilizing a whip in a race.

“These fines and suspensions are a guide for judges,” stressed Chairman Robert Schmitz. “Judges, ultimately, have the final call and it’s up to their discretion to issue penalties in regards to the severity of infractions.”

Listed below are the guidelines for fines and suspensions, reviewed and approved by the OSRC, on Aug. 25.

1) Cutting a horse with the whip or visibly injuring a horse (3768-17-17- (L))
a) $500 fine and a three-day driving suspension for first offense in Ohio
b) $1,000 fine, a five-day suspension, and referral to OSRC for second offense within 365 days in Ohio

2) Excessive/Indiscriminate, abusive whipping, whipping after the finish, whipping out of contention, illegal whip (3769-17-17 (B), (C), (D), (E), (F), (G), (I), (J), (K), (L))
a) $300 fine for first offense in Ohio
b) $300 fine, a three-day driving suspension for second offense within 365 days in Ohio
c) $500 fine, a five-day driving suspension and referral to OSRC for third offense within 365 days in Ohio

3) Failure to keep a line in each hand (3769-17-17 (A))
a) $300 fine for first offense in Ohio
b) $300 fine and a three-day driving suspension for second offense within 365 days in Ohio
c) $500 fine, a five-day driving suspension and referral to OSRC for third offense within 365 days in Ohio
 
4) Kicking (3769-17-16 (C))
a) $300 fine for first offense in Ohio
b) $300 fine and a three-day suspension for second offense within 365 days in Ohio
c) $500 fine, a five-day driving suspension and referral to OSRC for third offense within 365 days in Ohio

5) Leaning back excessively in the sulky (3769-17-16 (D))
a) $200 fine for first offense in Ohio
b) $300 fine for second offense within 365 days in Ohio
c) $500 fine, a three-day driving suspension and referral to OSRC for third offense within 365 days in Ohio.


Related Articles :


     NEXT NEWSROOM ARTICLE
Kim Sloan finds success in training by the book

Search Articles: