USTA Home > News Home > Stucklikeglue tops Miami Valley's best mares

Stucklikeglue tops Miami Valley's best mares
Friday, January 09, 2015 - from Miami Valley Raceway

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print  Email

Lebanon, OH---Despite sub-zero wind chills Friday night (Jan. 9) at Miami Valley Raceway, Stucklikeglue (Greg Grismore) made another impressive showing in the $14,500 Fillies and Mares Open pace by beating Buckeye Thea (Tyler Smith) and Rescue Team (Chris Page) in 1:55.1. 

Since coming to the Dayton area a month ago, the winner has two wins, a second and a third in four local starts in the Friday night feature. The 4-year-old Dragon Again mare, bought out of the Harrisburg sale in November by Parent Racing Stable LLC, is trained by Doug Hinklin.

Conrad Photo
Stucklikeglue won the Fillies and Mares Open in 1:55.1 for driver Greg Grismore.

Grismore allowed Sectionline Yankee (Ronnie Wrenn Jr.) to take the early lead, but quarter-moved to the front just past the :28 opening panel. The 7-5 favorite lead the other talented mares the rest of the way, stopping the quarter timers in :58.1, 1:27 and 1:55.1 the rest of the way. Rescue Team raced first-over from just before the halfway point, with Buckeye Thea in tow in the outer flow. 

Earlier on the card, Kayne Kauffman scored a natural hat trick in the third, fourth and fifth races. He scored with Cat Ballou for trainer Diane Hartsook, Artie’s Last Party for trainer Eddie Poling, and with Fashion Guru from his own stable. With 16 wins through the first five nights of racing, Kauffman leads all Miami Valley drivers in his attempt to retain the dash title he won at the initial meet last year.

Ronnie Wrenn Jr., the defending national dash champion making his first 2015 appearance at Miami Valley, also scored a double in just three drives. Wrenn triumphed with A Sham Of Amber for trainer Virgil Morgan Jr. and Right On Molly for trainer Sherif Cunmulaj. Wrenn has nine drives on the 14-race Saturday night program with first race post time at 6:30 p.m.

Related Articles :

Grand Circuit Challenge winners announced

Search Articles: