USTA Home > News Home > Tioga and Vernon prepare for new-format Drivers’ Championship

Tioga and Vernon prepare for new-format Drivers’ Championship
Wednesday, July 30, 2014 - by James Witherite, Tioga Downs racing media

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print  Email

Nichols, NY --- Tioga Downs and Vernon Downs management have announced a new format for the 2014 Drivers’ Championship, scheduled to take place on a pair of marquee race days at both New York courses.

The first round will take place at Vernon Downs on Friday (Aug. 29), along with the $200,000 (est.) Crawford Farms Open Trot and the Zweig Memorial Trot for 3-year-olds. The second round is slated for Monday (Sept. 1) -- three days later -- at Tioga Downs, where the Drivers’ Championship will share the spotlight with the Cane Pace, the Shady Daisy, and a preliminary leg of the Miss Versatility series for distaff trotters.

Past years have seen the six top money-winning drivers in North America and a sponsor’s exemption join the leading driver from both Tioga and Vernon, but the 2014 Drivers’ Championship will implement a new means to compile the nine-driver field.

This year, the leading drivers (by wins) at Tioga and Vernon will be joined by:

  • the top three Meadowlands drivers (by purse earnings)
  • the top Woodbine Entertainment Group circuit driver
  • the top Harrah’s Philadelphia/Pocono Downs driver
  • the top driver aged 25 or younger
  • a sponsor’s exemption

As of right now, the field would be comprised of Jim Marohn Jr., Chris Lems, Yannick Gingras, David Miller, Tim Tetrick, Sylvain Filion, George Napolitano, Scott Zeron, and the sponsor's exemption. The field will be finalized according to drivers' statistics as of the close of racing on Sunday (Aug. 3).

As in past years, the overall winner takes home $25,000 -- equivalent to a driver’s commission for winning a $1 million race. Additionally, the leader at the conclusion of the first round wins $10,000.

In addition to a slew of other giveaways and promotions, both tracks will host a Jim Marohn Jr. bobblehead giveaway in conjunction with the Drivers’ Championship to commemorate last year’s winner. With a healthy lead over Aaron Byron in the Tioga Downs standings, the “Mighty Mite Part Two” is poised to defend his title.

Related Articles :

Churchill and Saratoga announce management agreement

Search Articles: