USTA Home > News Home > Florida USHWA Hall of Fame dinner tonight

Florida USHWA Hall of Fame dinner tonight
Friday, March 07, 2014 - from the Florida Chapter of USHWA

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print   Email

Pompano Beach, FL --- Tickets are still available at the door for tonight’s Florida Chapter of the United States Harness Writers Association’s 23rd annual Hall of Fame awards dinner at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, Deerfield Beach.

Tickets are $75 per person and late registration can also be made by phone at 954.654.3757. Cocktail party starts at 6 p.m. followed by the awards dinner at 7:30 p.m.

Elected to the chapter’s Hall of Fame, which recognizes special individuals who have been outstanding leaders within the industry for more than ten years and who have contributed to the betterment of the Standardbred industry, are two longtime harness racing driver/trainers, Lucien Fontaine of Coconut Creek and Mark O’Mara of Parkland.

Being inducted into the Communicators’ Corner of the Hall of Fame, which is presented to an outstanding individual who had devoted his or her print or broadcast career to promoting the harness racing industry, goes to former Isle Pompano Park Marketing Director Steven Wolf of Coral Springs.

Three horses will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for their outstanding racing and/or stallion/broodmare careers. They are former stakes and Invitational pacer, I’d Like To Win; Florida’s leading pacing stallion, Six Of Diamonds; and the former world and track record holding trotter, Tweedle Dum.

The other Florida award winners are:

Jody Dancer–Delvin Miller Award
Tom Audley–William Popfinger Award
Kim Sears–Stanley Dancer Award
Michelle Hallett–Frances Dodge Van Lennep Award
Victoria Howard/Peter Roccasano–R.D. Ricketts Award
Ed Hensley–Peter Haughton Award
Rob Wyre–Dan Gawlas Good Guy Award
Joe Harvilla–Lifetime Achievement Award
Pam Senclair–Caretaker of the Year Award

In addition to the Florida USHWA chapter’s awards, presentations will also be made by the Florida Standardbred Breeders and Owners Association to the owners of the top 2- and 3-year-old state-bred trotters and pacers from the 2013 season and the annual Breeder of the Year Award, which goes to Kim and Jay Sears.

The Florida Amateur Driving Club will also present their Driver of the Year award to John Campagnuolo.

Related Articles :

Search Articles: