USTA Home > News Home > Racing Roundup: Magic Wheel wins third straight in Meadows feature

Racing Roundup: Magic Wheel wins third straight in Meadows feature
Wednesday, January 29, 2014 - from harness publicists across North America

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print   Email

Wednesday’s (Jan. 29) edition of Racing Roundup features results stories from The Meadows and Dover Downs.

Magic Wheel wins third straight in Meadows feature

Washington, PA --- Despite jumping up two classes, Magic Wheel controlled the mile after an uncertain start and collected her third straight victory in Wednesday’s $18,000 Filly & Mare Preferred Handicap Trot at The Meadows.

Magic Wheel appeared to be idling on the outside early before Mike Wilder clicked her into gear. She roared to the front and scored in 1:58.1 on a “slow” surface. Don’t Blink shot the Lightning Lane but fell a neck short while Lady Crown was third. Daylon Miracle, the 1-9 favorite, faltered first over and finished fifth.

Kris Hite trains Magic Wheel, a 6-year-old daughter of Kadabra-WS Balanced Wheel who extended her career bankroll to $497,795, for Tom Svrcek.

Aaron Merriman and Peter Wrenn each drove three winners on the 14-race card.

-- Evan Pattak

Dover Downs
Traverse Seelster had to take the long route on the way to his second straight $20,000 Open Handicap Trot win on a chilly Wednesday at Dover Downs.
Corey Callahan pulled Traverse Seelster to the outside in front of the grandstand and steadily moved on the outside chasing the leaders, Modern Family and Daryl Bier, who had a big lead heading to the final turn. Callahan was able to duck in second for a short stretch before coming out to challenge Modern Family in a stretch duel which resulted in Traverse Seelster getting up to win by a half-length in 1:53. Modern Family held on for second. Awsome Valley and Tony Morgan closed well to finish third. Keith Pippi owns the winner, an Ontario-bred Angus Hall-Tavelin Lavec gelding who won for the 23rd time in his career while building up a $435,009 bankroll. Vic Kirby led all drivers with four wins, while Corey Callahan, Ross Wolfenden and owner-trainer Joe Hundertfund had three winners.

Related Articles :

Search Articles: