USTA Home > News Home > Gingras, Burke grab top honors as Grand Circuit season comes to a close

Gingras, Burke grab top honors as Grand Circuit season comes to a close
Tuesday, December 17, 2013 - by Paul Ramlow, publicity director, The Grand Circuit

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print   Email


This Week: The 2013 Grand Circuit season has come to a close. The 2014 schedule will be released in January.

Last time: Apprentice Hanover, driven by Jody Jamieson, made a sweeping three-wide move to win the $126,000 Cleveland Classic in 1:52.1 on Dec. 14 at Northfield Park in the final Grand Circuit event of the 2013 campaign.

Sent off at odds of 3-1 as a heavy snow fell on the half-mile oval, Apprentice Hanover got away fifth as favored Word Power made the lead before the quarter, clocked in :27.

JJ Zamaiko photo
Apprentice Hanover and driver Jody Jamieson won the Cleveland Classic in 1:52.1.

Twilight Bonfire (Tony Hall) was first to challenge the leader, timing a slingshot swipe before the half, timed in :56.2. Jamieson put Apprentice Hanover on Hall's helmet in front of the grandstand for the first time.

Twilight Bonfire put up a stiff challenge through three-quarters in 1:24, but could only close within a head of Word Power. In mid-turn, Jamieson tipped Apprentice Hanover three-wide. The colt responded by blowing by the other two colts to win. Twilight Bonfire was second with Good Day Mate charging late for third. Only The Lonely was fourth and Word Power faded to fifth.

Apprentice Hanover was one of two horses (Word Power being the other) owned by Bradley Grant in the race. The 3-year-old son of Somebeachsomewhere-Allamerican Nadia is trained by Ben Wallace. Apprentice Hanover now has five wins in 18 starts this year, good for purse earnings of $228,207.

Complete recaps of all the races are available at the Grand Circuit website.


Grand Circuit Standings: In 2013, the Grand Circuit leaders in three categories (driver, trainer and owner) will be tracked on a points system (20-10-5 for the top three finishers in divisions/finals and 10-5-2 for the top three finishers in eliminations/legs). Hanover Shoe Farms is the sponsor for the 2013 Grand Circuit awards.

Here are the final standings for the 2013 season:

Drivers: 1. Yannick Gingras – 1,862; 2. Tim Tetrick – 1,645; 3. David Miller – 1,233; 4. Brian Sears – 781.5; and 5. Ron Pierce – 729.5.

Trainers: 1. Ron Burke – 1,818.5; 2. Jimmy Takter – 1,221.5; 3. Linda Toscano – 515.5; 4. Jonas Czernyson – 507.5; and 5. Tony Alagna – 471.

Owners: 1. Burke Racing – 410.7; 2. Weaver Bruscemi – 380; 3. Frank Bellino – 268.5; 4. Brittany Farms – 263.05; and 5. WJ Donovan – 244.

Looking ahead: The 2014 Grand Circuit schedule will be released in January.

Related Articles :

Search Articles: