USTA Home > News Home > Kokinos and Minore are repeat winners in NAADA Trotting Series

Kokinos and Minore are repeat winners in NAADA Trotting Series
Friday, December 13, 2013 - by John Manzi, for the NAADA

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print   Email

Monticello, NY --- With the completion of the final two preliminary legs of this year’s North American Amateur Drivers Association’s Charity Trotting Series, held at Yonkers Raceway on Thursday (Dec. 12), the field of drivers is now set for the $12,000 finale to be raced at Yonkers on Dec. 19.

On Thursday night previous leg winners Paul Minore and Dr. John Kokinos each emerged victorious, Kokinos for the fourth time and Minore for the second.

Kokinos, with Jennifer Lappe’s Impressive Earl, trotted to the front in their $6,000 split and rebuffed all challenges en route to a 1:59.4 victory over Ipo Blue Chip and driver Steve Oldford. Third place went to Bob Davis up behind Ilari.

For Dr. John, a veterinarian by trade, his victory added another 11 points to his total and he finished with 59 points and the points championship in the seven-leg, three-track trotting series which began on Oct. 17 at Monticello Raceway. Freehold Raceway was also a participant in the series.

In his $6,000 split Paul Minore, a retired high school coach whose most famous pupil was Carl Lewis, took no prisoners and went down the road to score a 1:59.3 victory with his own Wygant Prince. Monica Banca with Leave Your Mark finished a length behind the winner in second place while Bob Hechkoff got Tremendous Hit home for third money.

As a results of those races the top eight in series points earned a berth in the $12,000 final. Behind Kokinos and eligible to start if they choose to enter are Paul Minore (40 points), Monica Banca (34), Bob Davis (24), Dave Offenberg (23) and Bob Krivelin, Bob Hechkoff and Dave Yarock, each with 21 points.

If any of the aforementioned don’t enter it opens up for those next in line in points which includes Tony Verruso (18), Gerry Fielding (17), Steve Oldford (13), Kelly Walker (12) and Alan Schwartz (11).

When the series finale is completed, Joe Faraldo, the president of the North American Amateur Drivers Association, will again make a substantial donation from the organization to a worthwhile charity soon to be announced.

Related Articles :

Search Articles: