USTA Home > News Home > SOA of New York holds annual meeting

SOA of New York holds annual meeting
Tuesday, December 10, 2013 - from the Standardbred Owners Association of New York

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print   Email

Yonkers, NY --- On Saturday (Dec. 7), the Standardbred Owners Association of New York, the horsemen's association representing the more than 1,000 owners, trainers and drivers regularly competing at Yonkers Raceway, held its annual membership meeting.

At the meeting, the results of the SOA's 2013 Board of Directors election were certified. In the driver/trainer category, Ray Schnittker and Peter Younger were unopposed in their election to three year terms. In the owner category, SOA President Joseph Faraldo, Robert MacDougall and Chris Wittstruck were all re-elected to three year terms, also in unopposed fashion.

Additionally, the following officers and trustees of the Welfare and Retirement Funds were elected to serve during 2014. They are:

President: Joseph Faraldo
1st Vice President: Peter Venaglia
2nd Vice President: Irv Atherton
3rd Vice President: John Brennan
Treasurer: Irv Atherton
Secretary: John Brennan

Joseph Faraldo
Peter Venaglia
Irv Atherton
John Brennan
Jordan Stratton
Henry Gargiulo (1st Alternate)
Chris Wittstruck (2nd Alternate)

At the meeting, the Board discussed a variety of statutory and administrative goals for the upcoming year. Also discussed were the salient points of the new three year horsemen's agreement which was recently negotiated with Yonkers management. That agreement calls for 236 race dates for each of the three years. Subject to approval by the New York State Gaming Commission, the 2014 racing season with commence on Monday evening (Jan. 6).

Related Articles :

Search Articles: