USTA Home > News Home > Florida Chapter USHWA announces 2012 award winners

Florida Chapter USHWA announces 2012 award winners
Thursday, January 03, 2013 - by Steve Wolf, for the Florida Chapter USHWA

       Decrease Text Size    Increase Text Size   Print  Email

Pompano Beach, FL --- Fred Segal, president of the Florida Chapter of the United States Harness Writers Association, has announced the award winners for the 2012 season. They will be honored at the association’s 22nd annual Hall of Fame awards dinner on Sunday (February 10) at the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, Deerfield Beach.

Elected to the chapter’s Hall of Fame, which recognizes special individuals who have been outstanding leaders within the industry for more than ten years and who have contributed to the betterment of the Standardbred Industry, are Marc Aubin of Pompano Beach, George Napolitano, Sr. of Margate, and Mel Turcotte of Coconut Creek.

Being inducted into the Communicators’ Corner of the Hall of Fame, which is presented to an outstanding individual who had devoted his or her print or broadcast career to promoting the harness racing industry, goes to Kathleen Dempsey of Pompano Beach.

And there are three horses that will be inducted into the Hall of Fame for their outstanding racing and/or stallion/broodmare careers. They are Coast Express, CR Charisma and Mannart Howard.

Winner of the Delvin G. Miller Award, which recognizes someone or an organization whose life in harness racing has maintained the dedication and integrity furthering the growth of the sport, is the Florida Amateur Driving Club.

The William Popfinger Award for developing an outstanding juvenile pacer ended for the first time in the history of the award in a tie between Deshawn Minor of Delray Beach and Stewart Nemiro of Oakland Park.

The Stanley Dancer Award, which recognizes achievements of a trainer who has been continuously outstanding in the development of trotters, goes to Jim Gluhm of Trenton.

The Frances Dodge Van Lennep Award, which recognizes an outstanding female who has made great contributions to the sport, goes to Kim Beach of Boca Raton.

Winner of the R.D. Ricketts Award, which goes to an owner whose contributions to Florida racing has been outstanding, is Fred Morosini of Deerfield Beach.

The winner of the Dana Irving Award for breeding outstanding juvenile performers in 2012 is Tom Audley of Bell.

The Peter Haughton Award for the best newcomer to Pompano Park goes to Robert Hoffman of Coconut Creek.

The Dan Gawlas Good Guy Award, presented annually to an outstanding individual who has always contributed positively to the sport, goes to Danny Roberts of Pompano Beach.

The Florida USHWA Chapter’s Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Kay Anderson and Charlie Adams, both of Pompano Beach.

The annual Caretaker of the Year Award is presented to an outstanding individual who over his or her career has dedicated untiring time and effort towards caring for the horses in the stable(s) they worked for. This year’s honoree is Debbie Gray-Gagnon of Pompano Beach.

In addition to the Florida USHWA chapter’s awards, presentations will also be made by the Florida Standardbred Breeders and Owners Association to the owners of the top 2- and 3-year-old state-bred trotters and pacers from the 2012 season and the annual Breeder of the Year Award. The Florida Amateur Driving Club will also present their year-end awards.

Tickets are $60 per person for the full course dinner that begins at 6 p.m. with a one hour open bar with appetizers. Tables of ten are available. For more information, to purchase tickets, or place a congratulatory ad in the program book, please contact Rosie Huff at the Florida Standardbred Breeders Office at 954.972.5400,, or Steven Wolf at 954.654.3757,

Related Articles :

Adenium makes amends at Pompano

Search Articles: